Meet up paradise

When I came to Singapore two years ago, it was the first time ever in my life to live abroad.Every single thing was different, compering to my home country, from food, to people and the country itself. I remember first time my husband took me to CBD area, it was amazing to me to see such a number of tall buildings in one place. There was just one word lingering on my lips and that was WOW. After that beginning mesmerizing period passed, I found myself surrounded by people but I did not have so many friends. One day i was browsing the internet and I came across  Meet up site. It had all different groups full of people connected with same interest. That there was revelation for me. First thing I did, I found myself a movie group, because I am really a cinema buff. I found this one The movie club. It was a simple name but I like the fact that they organized often movie events so I joined. It was terrifying first time I went. It was event of 60 plus people, but their organization was impeccable. As a newbie I had a, it is not enough to say warm welcome, I was simply greeted to the big family. It was awesome.

Meet up dinner
                                             Meet up dinner

Every event was starting with dinner, and that was a chance for newbie to get to know people, and after that we were given the tickets.

Tickets
                                          Tickets

Yes, organizer is in charge of purchasing tickets, and that is a really big deal. After the movie we always take pictures inside and outside the cinema.

Big group of Movie lovers
                                 Big group of Movie lovers
Small group of movie lovers
                          Small group of movie lovers

After all the Strike a  pose moments, we go fro some after movie drinks and some more talk and laughter. This is a typical dinner-movie-drinks event, and for me that was a revelation. I never in my life met so many awesome people at one place. And not to forget that all this organization is completely on voluntary basis, that is what makes this experience more beautiful.

All in all I ended up joining a bunch of different groups, in accordance with vast variety of my interests, and I still go to different events and meet up with most awesome people.

But, as people say You never forget your first time, so I will always remember my first meet up group of Movie lovers!

Leave a Reply

